Credit cards with extended warranty protection
Extended warranty protection adds time to an eligible manufacturer's warranty on items bought with the card and covers the repairs that warranty would have covered 12. Twenty-one of the 45 cards we cover list it, from American Express, Bank of America, Capital One, Chase, Citi and U.S. Bank 234567.
Contents6 sections
How the extra time is calculated
The issuers use two methods. Chase adds one year to an original manufacturer's U.S. repair warranty of three years or less, and the total can never exceed four years from purchase 1. If a store warranty or a purchased service contract also applies, Chase's coverage starts after all of them end, and there is no coverage once they add up to more than three years 1. Chase's own example: a 12-month manufacturer's warranty plus a 24-month service contract gets 12 more months, 48 months in all 1.
U.S. Bank's Shield guide instead doubles the warranty, up to one additional year, on warranties of three years or less: three months becomes six, while a three-year warranty gets one more year 7. Capital One's guide for Discover Network accounts doubles warranties of two years or less, up to one additional year 4. Bank of America says its Warranty Manager Service doubles the manufacturer's warranty, up to one additional year 3. American Express extends warranties of five years or less by up to one additional year, starting after the longer of the manufacturer's warranty or a purchase service contract 2.
The benefit only pays for what the original warranty would have covered 12. Chase, Capital One and U.S. Bank cover items when all or part of the cost was charged to the card or paid with its rewards 147.
What is excluded
The Chase, Capital One and U.S. Bank guides exclude boats, cars and other motorized vehicles, items bought for resale or commercial use, rented or leased items, computer software, medical equipment, and used or pre-owned items, although refurbished items with a warranty are covered 147. American Express limits its coverage to purchases in the United States or its territories or possessions 2.
Filing a claim
Chase's guides set 90 days from the product failure to file and 120 days to send documents such as the receipt, card statement and warranty 15. Capital One's Discover Network guide asks for notice within 60 days of the failure and the signed claim form within 90 days 4. American Express asks for notice within 30 days and proof of loss within 60 days 2.
U.S. Bank's two official sources for the Shield give different deadlines. The Guide to Benefits says to notify the Benefit Administrator within 60 days of the product failure and submit the claim form within 90 days of the failure 7. The extended warranty tile in U.S. Bank's Benefits Center says a claim must be filed within 90 days of the date of purchase 8. Both list the Benefit Administrator at 800-551-8472 78.
How the cards differ
The Blue Cash Preferred, Gold Card and Platinum Card extend warranties of five years or less, with up to $10,000 per purchase and $50,000 per card per calendar year 2. All seven Chase cards (Sapphire Reserve, Sapphire Preferred, Freedom Flex, Freedom Unlimited, Freedom Rise, Slate and Slate Edge) cover up to $10,000 per item and $50,000 per account 195101112.
Capital One's Venture X adds one year to warranties of three years or less 13. The two-year rule applies to the Venture, VentureOne, Savor, SavorOne, Quicksilver and QuicksilverOne on Discover Network accounts, under the guide in effect as of 02/01/2026; Capital One says to check the logo on the card or the statement for the network 414. Both Capital One guides cap claims at $10,000 each and $50,000 per cardholder 134. Citi lists extended warranty for the Double Cash and Strata Elite as secondary coverage and refers to its Guide to Protection Benefits for limits 615.
Cards with extended warranty
21 of the 45 cards we cover list extended warranty, 10 of them with no annual fee. Select a heading to sort the table. Each card’s page has the full terms.
| Terms | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Capital One Quicksilver Cash Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $0 | doubles eligible warranties of two years or less, up to one additional year | Discover Network accounts: doubles warranties of 2 years or less, up to 1 extra year.416 |
| Capital One Savor Cash Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $0 | doubles eligible warranties of two years or less, up to one additional year | Discover Network accounts: doubles warranties of 2 years or less, up to 1 extra year.417 |
| Capital One VentureOne Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $0 | doubles eligible warranties of two years or less, up to one additional year | Discover Network accounts: doubles warranties of 2 years or less, up to 1 extra year.4 |
| Chase Freedom Flex Credit CardChase | $0 | One additional year on eligible manufacturer's U.S. warranties of three years or less, up to four years from the date of purchase | Adds 1 year to U.S. warranties of 3 years or less; $10,000 per item.185 |
| Chase Freedom Rise Credit CardChase | $0 | One additional year on eligible manufacturer's U.S. warranties of three years or less, up to four years from the date of purchase | Adds 1 year to U.S. warranties of 3 years or less; $10,000 per item.1910 |
| Chase Freedom Unlimited Credit CardChase | $0 | One additional year on eligible manufacturer's U.S. warranties of three years or less, up to four years from the date of purchase | Adds 1 year to U.S. warranties of 3 years or less; $10,000 per item.2010 |
| Citi Double Cash CardCiti | $0 | Not stated | Listed; secondary coverage. Terms and limits in the Guide to Protection Benefits.6 |
| Slate Credit CardChase | $0 | One additional year on eligible manufacturer's U.S. warranties of three years or less, up to four years from the date of purchase | Adds 1 year to U.S. warranties of 3 years or less; $10,000 per item.2111 |
| Slate Edge Credit CardChase | $0 | One additional year on eligible manufacturer's U.S. warranties of three years or less, up to four years from the date of purchase | Adds 1 year to U.S. warranties of 3 years or less; $10,000 per item.2212 |
| U.S. Bank Shield Visa CardU.S. Bank | $0 | doubles warranty coverage up to one additional year on eligible warranties of 3 years or less | Adds up to 1 year to U.S. warranties of 3 years or less; up to $10,000 per claim.78 |
| Capital One QuicksilverOne Cash Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $39 | doubles eligible warranties of two years or less, up to one additional year | Discover Network accounts: doubles warranties of 2 years or less, up to 1 extra year.4 |
| Capital One SavorOne Cash Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $39 | doubles eligible warranties of two years or less, up to one additional year | Discover Network accounts: doubles warranties of 2 years or less, up to 1 extra year.423 |
| Bank of America Premium Rewards credit cardBank of America | $95 | doubles the manufacturer's warranty, up to one additional year; warranty records can be kept on file for warranties of three years or less | Doubles the manufacturer's warranty, up to one additional year, on eligible items bought with the card.3 |
| Blue Cash Preferred Card from American ExpressAmerican Express | $95 | Up to 1 additional year on original manufacturer's warranties of 5 years or less | Adds up to 1 year to warranties of 5 years or less; up to $10,000 per item, $50,000 per year.22425 |
| Capital One Venture Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $95 | doubles eligible warranties of two years or less, up to one additional year | Discover Network accounts: doubles warranties of 2 years or less, up to 1 extra year.426 |
| Chase Sapphire Preferred Credit CardChase | $95 | One additional year on eligible warranties of three years or less, up to four years from the date of purchase | Adds 1 year to U.S. warranties of 3 years or less; $10,000 per item.279 |
| American Express Gold CardAmerican Express | $325 | Up to 1 additional year on original manufacturer's warranties of 5 years or less | Adds up to 1 year to warranties of 5 years or less; up to $10,000 per item, $50,000 per year.22428 |
| Capital One Venture X Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $395 | one additional year on eligible warranties of three years or less | Adds 1 year to warranties of 3 years or less; $10,000 per claim, $50,000 per cardholder.13 |
| Citi Strata Elite CardCiti | $595 | Not stated | Listed; secondary coverage. Terms in the Guide to Protection Benefits.1529 |
| Chase Sapphire Reserve Credit CardChase | $795 | One additional year on eligible warranties of three years or less, up to four years from purchase | Adds 1 year to U.S. warranties of 3 years or less; $10,000 per item.301 |
| Platinum Card from American ExpressAmerican Express | $895 | Up to 1 additional year on original manufacturer's warranties of 5 years or less | Adds up to 1 year to warranties of 5 years or less; up to $10,000 per item, $50,000 per year.22431 |
Related: Cell phone protection · Purchase protection · Return protection. Need several benefits at once? Use the card finder.
Sources
- 1 Chase, Chase Sapphire Reserve Visa Infinite Guide to Benefits (effective 06/11/26) Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 2 American Express, Extended Warranty Benefit Guide 314-399 Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 3 Bank of America, Bank of America Premium Rewards Credit Card Benefits Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 4
- 5
- 6 Citi, Citi Double Cash Card | Citi.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 7
- 8
- 9
- 10
- 11 Chase, Chase Slate Visa Platinum Guide to Benefits (effective 10/01/24) Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 12 Chase, Chase Slate Edge Visa Platinum Guide to Benefits (effective 10/01/24) Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 13 Capital One, Your Guide To Card Benefits - Visa Infinite Card (Capital One) Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 14 Capital One, Cardholder Benefits Guides | Capital One Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 15 Citi, Citi Strata Elite - Travel Credit Card | Citi.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 16 Capital One, Quicksilver Cash Back Rewards Card | Capital One Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 17 Capital One, Savor Rewards: Cash Back on Dining & Grocery Stores | Capital One Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 18 Chase, Chase Freedom Flex Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 19 Chase, Chase Freedom Rise Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 20 Chase, Chase Freedom Unlimited Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 21 Chase, Chase Slate Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 22 Chase, Slate Edge Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 23 Capital One, SavorOne Rewards: Cash Back on Dining & Grocery Stores | Capital One Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 24 American Express, Extended Warranty - eligible cards and guides Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 25
- 26 Capital One, Venture Rewards Travel Card — Apply Today | Capital One Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 27 Chase, Chase Sapphire Preferred Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 28
- 29
- 30 Chase, Chase Sapphire Reserve Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 31
Has a card changed its terms? Report an error