CardBenefitsFinder

US credit card benefits, checked against the issuers

Citi Strata Elite Card

The Citi Strata Elite Card has a $595 annual fee and earns ThankYou Points, with 12 points per $1 on hotels, car rentals and attractions booked through Citi Travel and 1.5 points per $1 on purchases outside its bonus categories ⁠2. Its defining benefits are a Priority Pass Select membership, four Admirals Club passes a year, an annual hotel benefit of up to $300, and up to $200 a year each in Splurge and Blacklane credits ⁠2⁠1.

Compiled from official sources Checked against Citi’s terms Last reviewed How we research
Contents12 sections

At a glance

Annual fee$595⁠1⁠2
Foreign transaction feeNone⁠1⁠2
RewardsEarns ThankYou Points: 12x on hotels, car rentals and attractions and 6x on air travel booked through Citi Travel, 6x at restaurants during Citi Nights (Fri/Sat 6 PM-6 AM ET), 3x at restaurants at other times, 1.5x on all other purchases.
Rewards programCiti ThankYou Rewards
NetworkMastercard
Authorized users$75 Annual fee per the pricing details⁠1
IssuerCiti · Official card page

What to know about the Strata Elite

Restaurant earning depends on timing. Purchases authorized during Citi Nights (Friday 6:00 PM to Saturday 6:00 AM ET and Saturday 6:00 PM to Sunday 6:00 AM ET) earn 6 points per $1, and restaurant purchases at other times earn 3 points per $1; Citi goes by the authorization time, not the posting date ⁠2. Air travel earns 6 points per $1 only when booked through Citi Travel; the part of a hotel booking paid by the hotel benefit earns no points ⁠2.

The hotel benefit applies once per calendar year to a stay of 2 nights or more booked through Citi Travel and prepaid with the card, points or both. Package rates do not qualify, and an unused remainder stays available for another qualifying booking in the same calendar year ⁠2. The Splurge Credit pays back purchases at up to 2 brands the cardmember activates, from a list that includes American Airlines and Best Buy ⁠1. Blacklane credits are split into up to $100 for January through June and up to $100 for July through December, for rides bought directly from Blacklane ⁠2.

Priority Pass Select covers the primary cardmember and authorized users with up to 2 guests per visit; further guests cost $35 each per visit, and entry requires the physical card and a same-day boarding pass ⁠2. The Admirals Club passes go to the primary cardmember each calendar year, need same-day travel on an eligible American Airlines, oneworld or Alaska Airlines flight, and are forfeited if unused at year end ⁠2. Each authorized user costs $75 a year ⁠1.

Citi lists trip delay, enhanced trip cancellation and interruption, lost or damaged luggage, MasterRental car rental coverage, extended warranty and Purchase Assurance Plus ⁠1. The terms call the coverage secondary, except MasterRental, which is primary outside the renter's country of residence, and put coverage limits in the Guide to Protection Benefits sent with the card ⁠2.

Earning rewards

How the Strata Elite earns points
RateOn
12x points per $1 Hotels, car rentals and attractions booked through Citi Travel (cititravel.com or 1-833-737-1288)Only the portion paid with the card earns points; points are not earned on cancelled bookings that are refundable; no points on the portion offset by the $300 Annual Hotel Benefit⁠2
6x points per $1 Air travel booked through Citi Travel⁠2
6x points per $1 Restaurants, including restaurant delivery, during Citi Nights (authorized Friday 6:00 PM-Saturday 6:00 AM ET and Saturday 6:00 PM-Sunday 6:00 AM ET)Based on authorization time, not posting time⁠2
3x points per $1 Restaurants, including restaurant delivery, outside Citi Nights⁠2
1.5x points per $1 All other purchases⁠2

ThankYou Points can be redeemed through Citi Travel, transferred to airline and hotel partners (minimum transfer 1,000 points), or used for gift cards, cash back and Shop with Points.⁠1

Travel insurance and assistance

Rental car coverageMasterRental Coverage (car rental insurance): primary outside the Eligible Renter's country of residence, secondary otherwise. Coverage amounts are not stated on Citi's public pages.⁠1⁠2
Trip cancellation and interruptionEnhanced Trip Cancellation and Trip Interruption Protection (Common Carrier) is listed; secondary coverage. Coverage amounts are not stated on Citi's public pages.⁠1⁠2
Trip delayTrip Delay Protection is listed among the card's travel protections; secondary coverage. Coverage amounts are in the Guide to Protection Benefits and are not stated on Citi's public pages.⁠1⁠2
Lost or damaged luggageLost or Damaged Luggage coverage is listed; secondary coverage. Coverage amounts are not stated on Citi's public pages.⁠1⁠2

Purchase and phone protection

Purchase protectionPurchase Assurance Plus is listed among the card's protections; secondary coverage. Coverage amounts and time limits are in the Guide to Protection Benefits and are not stated on Citi's public product or terms pages.⁠1⁠2
Extended warrantyExtended Warranty is listed among the card's protections; secondary coverage. Terms are not stated on Citi's public pages.⁠1⁠2

Travel perks

Airport lounge accessComplimentary Priority Pass Select membership for primary cardmembers and authorized users (1,500+ lounges); up to 2 guests per visit included, additional guests charged $35 per guest per visit.⁠2
Airport lounge accessFour Admirals Club Citi Strata Elite Passes per calendar year for the primary cardmember (one pass per adult entering; each valid 24 hours).⁠2
Global Entry or TSA PreCheck creditOne statement credit up to $120 every four years for the Global Entry or TSA PreCheck application fee charged to the card.⁠2
Hotel benefits programThe Reserve by Citi Travel: $100 experience credit, room upgrade (on availability), daily breakfast for two, Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out (on availability) when booking a The Reserve rate.⁠2

Account features

Free credit scoreFree access to your FICO Score online.⁠1

Statement credits

Annual Hotel Benefit via Citi Travel$300 once per calendar year. Up to $300 off a hotel stay of 2 nights or more booked through Citi Travel (cititravel.com or 1-833-737-1288); must prepay with the card, ThankYou Points or a combination; unused remainder carries to the next qualifying booking in the same calendar year; package rates excluded; reservations by the primary cardmember⁠2
Splurge Credit$200 each calendar year. Statement credits on up to 2 activated brands from: 1stDibs, American Airlines (exclusions apply), Best Buy, Future Personal Training, Live Nation (exclusions apply)⁠1
Blacklane credit$200 each calendar year (up to $100 January-June and up to $100 July-December). Automatic statement credits for Blacklane purchases made directly via the Blacklane app or blacklane.com; primary and authorized user purchases eligible⁠2
Citigold Banking Relationship Annual Credit$145 annually. For primary cardmembers who own a deposit account in the Citigold Relationship Tier on the date the $595 annual fee is charged⁠1
Citigold Private Client Banking Relationship Credit$595 first year; $145 each year thereafter. For primary cardmembers who own a deposit account in the Citigold Private Client Relationship Tier on the date the annual fee is charged⁠1

Other perks

ThankYou Points transfer to airline and hotel partnersPartners named include American Airlines, JetBlue, Virgin Atlantic, Cathay, Eva Air, Choice Hotels, The Leading Hotels of the World and others; minimum transfer 1,000 points⁠1
Mastercard ID Theft ProtectionFree identity monitoring program offered by Mastercard; enrollment required⁠1
Citi EntertainmentPresale and special-access tickets to events⁠1
Death & Co Fashioned accessComplimentary access to Death & Co's Fashioned lifestyle platform for primary cardmembers and authorized users 21+ who register with the card⁠2
The Supper Club dining eventsOpportunity to purchase tickets to cardmember dining events in major U.S. cities; tickets paid with the card⁠2

Not listed for this card

The Citi pages and benefit terms we checked for the Strata Elite do not list these benefits:

Some benefits come from the card network rather than the bank and are not always advertised. Your own Guide to Benefits, or the number on the back of the card, is the final word on what your account covers.

Sources

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Has a benefit or fee changed? Report an error