Credit cards with purchase protection
Purchase protection repairs, replaces or reimburses a new item bought with the card if it is stolen or damaged soon after purchase: within 90 days on the American Express, Bank of America, Capital One and U.S. Bank cards, and 120 days on the Chase cards (90 days for New York residents) 12345. Twenty-one of the 45 cards we cover list it, from American Express, Bank of America, Capital One, Chase, Citi and U.S. Bank 627894.
Contents6 sections
What has to happen for an item to be covered
Chase's guides cover an item when all or part of its cost is charged to the card or paid with the card's rewards, and they cover purchases made inside and outside the U.S. and items given as gifts 58. Capital One's and U.S. Bank's guides use the same portion-or-entire-cost rule 34. American Express counts only the amount charged to the card, and accepts purchases combined with Membership Rewards points or Pay with Points but not with other loyalty programs 1.
The events covered vary. American Express's guide for the Gold Card and Platinum Card covers damage, loss or theft, while its guide for the Blue Cash cards covers damage or theft 16. Chase adds involuntary and accidental parting, where the item's location is known but recovery is impractical 5. U.S. Bank's Shield guide lists specific causes: theft other than from vehicles, and damage from fire, vandalism, accidentally discharged water and certain weather 4.
The benefit sits behind other insurance. American Express calls its coverage secondary to homeowner's or renter's insurance, and Chase calls its coverage secondary and in excess of other insurance while covering the deductible on it 15. Capital One and U.S. Bank pay on an excess basis and require a claim with your own insurer first, with a copy of any settlement 34.
Common exclusions
The Chase, Capital One and U.S. Bank guides exclude items that are lost or mysteriously disappear, items in the care of a common carrier, motorized vehicles, computer software, perishables and consumables, and used or pre-owned items 534. American Express excludes normal wear and tear or product defects, previously owned items unless refurbished by the original manufacturer, and items not reasonably safeguarded, such as one left in an unlocked vehicle 1. Chase requires a claim with the carrier or retailer first when an item is stolen from the delivery location 5.
Filing a claim
American Express asks for notice within 30 days of the loss and proof of loss within 60 days, and a theft report should be filed before giving notice 1. Chase's guides set 90 days from the loss to file and 120 days to send documents, with a police, fire or incident report made within 48 hours or as soon as reasonably possible 58. Capital One's Discover Network guide and U.S. Bank's Shield guide ask for a call within 60 days of the damage or theft 34. Chase and Capital One may ask you to send a damaged item in at your own expense 53.
How the limits differ
The Gold Card and Platinum Card cover up to $10,000 per purchase and the Blue Cash Everyday and Blue Cash Preferred up to $1,000, all four with $50,000 per card per calendar year and $500 per natural-disaster event 16. The Sapphire Reserve covers up to $10,000 per item and $50,000 per calendar year; the Sapphire Preferred, Freedom Flex, Freedom Unlimited, Freedom Rise, Slate and Slate Edge cover up to $500 per item and $50,000 per account 5108111213.
Capital One's Venture X covers up to $10,000 per claim and $50,000 per cardholder 7. For the Venture, VentureOne, Savor, SavorOne, Quicksilver and QuicksilverOne, the figures of $1,000 per claim and $25,000 per 12 months come from Capital One's guide for Discover Network accounts, in effect as of 02/01/2026; Capital One tells cardholders to find their network from the logo on the card or the statement 314. Bank of America lists up to $10,000 per claim for the Premium Rewards, and U.S. Bank up to $500 per claim and $50,000 per cardholder for the Shield 24. Citi lists Purchase Assurance Plus for the Strata Elite as secondary coverage, without amounts or time limits on its public pages 915.
Cards with purchase protection
21 of the 45 cards we cover list purchase protection, 10 of them with no annual fee. Select a heading to sort the table. Each card’s page has the full terms.
| Terms | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Blue Cash Everyday Card from American ExpressAmerican Express | $0 | Up to 90 days from the date of the Covered Purchase | Not stated | Up to $1,000 per purchase and $50,000 per card per calendar year, for 90 days; damage or theft.61617 |
| Capital One Quicksilver Cash Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $0 | 90 days from date of purchase | $1,000 | Discover Network accounts: 90 days; up to $1,000 per claim and $25,000 per 12 months.3 |
| Capital One Savor Cash Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $0 | 90 days from date of purchase | $1,000 | Discover Network accounts: 90 days; up to $1,000 per claim and $25,000 per 12 months.3 |
| Capital One VentureOne Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $0 | 90 days from date of purchase | $1,000 | Discover Network accounts: 90 days; up to $1,000 per claim and $25,000 per 12 months.3 |
| Chase Freedom Flex Credit CardChase | $0 | 120 days from purchase (90 days for New York residents) | Not stated | 120 days (90 in New York), up to $500 per item and $50,000 per account.188 |
| Chase Freedom Rise Credit CardChase | $0 | 120 days from purchase (90 days for New York residents) | Not stated | 120 days (90 in New York), up to $500 per item and $50,000 per account.1911 |
| Chase Freedom Unlimited Credit CardChase | $0 | 120 days from purchase (90 days for New York residents) | Not stated | 120 days (90 in New York), up to $500 per item and $50,000 per account.2011 |
| Slate Credit CardChase | $0 | 120 days from purchase (90 days for New York residents) | Not stated | 120 days (90 in New York), up to $500 per item and $50,000 per account.2112 |
| Slate Edge Credit CardChase | $0 | 120 days from purchase (90 days for New York residents) | Not stated | 120 days (90 in New York), up to $500 per item and $50,000 per account.2213 |
| U.S. Bank Shield Visa CardU.S. Bank | $0 | 90 days from the date of purchase | $500 | Theft and damage for 90 days; up to $500 per claim and $50,000 per cardholder; excess coverage.423 |
| Capital One QuicksilverOne Cash Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $39 | 90 days from date of purchase | $1,000 | Discover Network accounts: 90 days; up to $1,000 per claim and $25,000 per 12 months.3 |
| Capital One SavorOne Cash Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $39 | 90 days from date of purchase | $1,000 | Discover Network accounts: 90 days; up to $1,000 per claim and $25,000 per 12 months.3 |
| Bank of America Premium Rewards credit cardBank of America | $95 | 90 days of purchase | $10,000 | Purchase Security: theft or damage within 90 days of purchase, up to $10,000 per claim.2 |
| Blue Cash Preferred Card from American ExpressAmerican Express | $95 | Up to 90 days from the date of the Covered Purchase | Not stated | Up to $1,000 per purchase and $50,000 per card per calendar year, for 90 days; damage or theft.61624 |
| Capital One Venture Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $95 | 90 days from date of purchase | $1,000 | Discover Network accounts: 90 days; up to $1,000 per claim and $25,000 per 12 months.3 |
| Chase Sapphire Preferred Credit CardChase | $95 | 120 days from purchase (90 days for New York residents) | Not stated | 120 days (90 in New York), up to $500 per item and $50,000 per account.2510 |
| American Express Gold CardAmerican Express | $325 | Up to 90 days from the date of the Covered Purchase | Not stated | Up to $10,000 per purchase and $50,000 per card per calendar year, for 90 days from purchase.11626 |
| Capital One Venture X Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $395 | 90 days from date of purchase | $10,000 | 90 days from purchase; up to $10,000 per claim and $50,000 per cardholder.7 |
| Citi Strata Elite CardCiti | $595 | Not stated | Not stated | Purchase Assurance Plus listed; secondary coverage. Terms in the Guide to Protection Benefits.915 |
| Chase Sapphire Reserve Credit CardChase | $795 | 120 days from purchase (90 days for New York residents) | Not stated | 120 days (90 in New York), up to $10,000 per item and $50,000 per year.275 |
| Platinum Card from American ExpressAmerican Express | $895 | Up to 90 days from the date of the Covered Purchase | Not stated | Up to $10,000 per purchase and $50,000 per card per calendar year, for 90 days from purchase.11628 |
Related: Cell phone protection · Extended warranty · Return protection. Need several benefits at once? Use the card finder.
Sources
- 1
- 2 Bank of America, Bank of America Premium Rewards Credit Card Benefits Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 3
- 4
- 5 Chase, Chase Sapphire Reserve Visa Infinite Guide to Benefits (effective 06/11/26) Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 6
- 7 Capital One, Your Guide To Card Benefits - Visa Infinite Card (Capital One) Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 8
- 9 Citi, Citi Strata Elite - Travel Credit Card | Citi.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 10
- 11
- 12 Chase, Chase Slate Visa Platinum Guide to Benefits (effective 10/01/24) Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 13 Chase, Chase Slate Edge Visa Platinum Guide to Benefits (effective 10/01/24) Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 14 Capital One, Cardholder Benefits Guides | Capital One Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 15
- 16 American Express, Purchase Protection - eligible cards and guides Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 17
- 18 Chase, Chase Freedom Flex Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 19 Chase, Chase Freedom Rise Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 20 Chase, Chase Freedom Unlimited Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 21 Chase, Chase Slate Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 22 Chase, Slate Edge Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 23
- 24
- 25 Chase, Chase Sapphire Preferred Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 26
- 27 Chase, Chase Sapphire Reserve Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 28
Has a card changed its terms? Report an error