Credit cards with roadside assistance
Card roadside programs dispatch towing, tire changes, jump starts, lockout help, fuel delivery and winching by phone; of the 45 cards we cover, 19 list one, and for 16 of them the issuer's guide describes a pay-per-use service in which the cardholder pays for each service call 123. The Chase Sapphire Reserve instead covers up to $50 per service event, up to four events a year, and Bank of America describes its Roadside Dispatch as a referral network without saying costs are covered 456.
Contents6 sections
How pay-per-use dispatch works
The Roadside Dispatch guide that U.S. Bank links (in effect as of 4/1/24) describes a pay-per-use program with no membership, pre-enrollment or annual dues 1. For a set price per service call it provides standard towing up to 5 miles, tire changing with a good inflated spare, jump starting, lockout service without key replacement, fuel delivery of up to 5 gallons plus the cost of fuel, and standard winching 1. That guide puts the fee for a standard service call at $79.95, says fees can change at any time and says callers are told the price before dispatch 1. The number is 1-800-847-2869 12.
Wells Fargo's guides (in effect as of 09/15/2025) describe the same program but say the fee is confirmed when service is requested instead of printing an amount 2. Chase's Freedom guide describes a pay-per-use program in the U.S. and Canada for a pre-negotiated per-service fee, and Chase says Sapphire Preferred roadside fees are billed to the card at the time of dispatch 37.
Costs on top of the service fee
Under the U.S. Bank and Wells Fargo guides, the customer pays the provider for towing beyond 5 miles, and only light-duty vehicles of 10,000 lbs. or less qualify 12. Both guides say service may not reach areas not regularly traveled or off-road locations, and that the cardholder owes the charges of a provider who responds even if the cardholder or vehicle is gone when it arrives 12. Chase's Freedom guide tells drivers of a rental car to call the rental agency before the roadside provider 3.
The Sapphire Reserve's covered events
Chase's Sapphire Reserve guide covers 24-hour road assistance up to $50 for each service event, up to four events a year, in the U.S. and Canada, with no membership or pre-enrollment 4. It allows one event per service type in any 7-day period and covers towing, tire changes, battery assistance, lockout service, fuel delivery and standard winching 84. Charges above the covered amount can be put on the card or paid another way, and the guide states the benefit is not insurance 4.
How the cards differ
U.S. Bank lists Roadside Dispatch on the Altitude Connect, Altitude Go, Cash+, Smartly, Shield and Secured Visa cards, and Wells Fargo on the Active Cash, Autograph, Autograph Journey and Reflect 910111213142151617. Chase lists a pay-per-use program on the Freedom Flex, Freedom Unlimited, Freedom Rise, Slate, Slate Edge and Sapphire Preferred 18319202122. Bank of America's pages for the Premium Rewards and Premium Rewards Elite describe a 24/7 on-demand referral dispatch network for roadside assistance, towing and locksmith services, state no fee and do not say costs are covered; the bank says details accompany new account materials 56.
Cards with roadside assistance
19 of the 45 cards we cover list roadside assistance, 14 of them with no annual fee. Select a heading to sort the table. Each card’s page has the full terms.
| Terms | ||
|---|---|---|
| Chase Freedom Flex Credit CardChase | $0 | Pay-per-use dispatch at a pre-negotiated fee; towing up to 5 miles included.18 |
| Chase Freedom Rise Credit CardChase | $0 | Pay-per-use dispatch at a pre-negotiated fee; towing up to 5 miles included.3 |
| Chase Freedom Unlimited Credit CardChase | $0 | Pay-per-use dispatch at a pre-negotiated fee; towing up to 5 miles included.3 |
| Slate Credit CardChase | $0 | Pay-per-use dispatch; fees billed to the card at time of dispatch.2320 |
| Slate Edge Credit CardChase | $0 | Pay-per-use dispatch; fees billed to the card at time of dispatch.2421 |
| U.S. Bank Altitude Connect Visa Signature CardU.S. Bank | $0 | Pay-per-use dispatch; the cardholder pays the service fee ($79.95 standard call, subject to change).91 |
| U.S. Bank Altitude Go Visa Signature CardU.S. Bank | $0 | Pay-per-use dispatch; the cardholder pays the service fee ($79.95 standard call, subject to change).101 |
| U.S. Bank Cash+ Visa Signature CardU.S. Bank | $0 | Pay-per-use dispatch; the cardholder pays the service fee ($79.95 standard call, subject to change).111 |
| U.S. Bank Secured Visa CardU.S. Bank | $0 | Pay-per-use dispatch; the cardholder pays the service fee ($79.95 standard call, subject to change).141 |
| U.S. Bank Shield Visa CardU.S. Bank | $0 | Pay-per-use dispatch; the cardholder pays the service fee ($79.95 standard call, subject to change).131 |
| U.S. Bank Smartly Visa Signature CardU.S. Bank | $0 | Pay-per-use dispatch; the cardholder pays the service fee ($79.95 standard call, subject to change).121 |
| Wells Fargo Active Cash CardWells Fargo | $0 | Pay-per-use dispatch at a set price per call; towing up to 5 miles included; no enrollment.2 |
| Wells Fargo Autograph CardWells Fargo | $0 | Pay-per-use dispatch at a set price per call; towing up to 5 miles included; no enrollment.15 |
| Wells Fargo Reflect CardWells Fargo | $0 | Pay-per-use dispatch at a set price per call; towing up to 5 miles included; no enrollment.17 |
| Bank of America Premium Rewards credit cardBank of America | $95 | 24/7 Roadside Dispatch referral for towing, locksmith and roadside help; costs not stated as covered.5 |
| Chase Sapphire Preferred Credit CardChase | $95 | Pay-per-use dispatch in the U.S. and Canada; fees billed to the card.722 |
| Wells Fargo Autograph Journey CardWells Fargo | $95 | Pay-per-use dispatch at a set price per call; towing up to 5 miles included; no enrollment.16 |
| Bank of America Premium Rewards Elite credit cardBank of America | $550 | 24/7 Roadside Dispatch referral for towing, locksmith and roadside help; costs not stated as covered.6 |
| Chase Sapphire Reserve Credit CardChase | $795 | Covered up to $50 per event, 4 events a year, in the U.S. and Canada.84 |
Related: Rental car coverage · Trip cancellation and interruption · Trip delay · Baggage delay · Lost or damaged luggage · Travel accident insurance. Need several benefits at once? Use the card finder.
Sources
- 1
- 2
- 3
- 4 Chase, Chase Sapphire Reserve Visa Infinite Guide to Benefits (effective 06/11/26) Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 5 Bank of America, Bank of America Premium Rewards Credit Card Benefits Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 6 Bank of America, Bank of America Premium Rewards Elite Credit Card Benefits Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 7 Chase, Chase Sapphire Preferred Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 8
- 9
- 10
- 11
- 12
- 13
- 14
- 15
- 16
- 17
- 18
- 19
- 20 Chase, Chase Slate Visa Platinum Guide to Benefits (effective 10/01/24) Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 21 Chase, Chase Slate Edge Visa Platinum Guide to Benefits (effective 10/01/24) Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 22
- 23 Chase, Chase Slate Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 24 Chase, Slate Edge Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
Has a card changed its terms? Report an error