CardBenefitsFinder

US credit card benefits, checked against the issuers

Credit cards with lost luggage insurance

Lost luggage insurance pays for checked or carry-on bags and their contents that a common carrier loses, or that are damaged or stolen, on a trip whose fare was paid with the card ⁠1⁠2. Of the 45 cards we cover, 16 list it, from American Express, Bank of America, Capital One, Chase, Citi and Wells Fargo ⁠3⁠4⁠5⁠6⁠7⁠8.

Compiled from official sources 16 cards from 6 issuers Last reviewed How we research
Contents5 sections

How much the cards pay

Chase's guides for the Sapphire Preferred and Sapphire Reserve pay up to $3,000 per covered traveler per trip to repair or replace baggage that is lost, damaged or stolen, with sub-limits of $500 for jewelry and watches and $500 for cameras and other electronics ⁠1⁠9. American Express sets separate limits for checked and carry-on bags: on the Platinum, up to $2,000 checked and $3,000 carry-on per covered person, $1,000 for high-risk items and $3,000 per person per trip in total; on the Gold, up to $500 checked, $1,250 carry-on and $250 for high-risk items such as jewelry, electronics and sporting equipment ⁠10⁠2.

Capital One's Visa Infinite guide for the Venture X pays up to $3,000 per covered trip, and Wells Fargo's Autograph Journey guide up to $3,000 in total for all covered travelers per trip ⁠5⁠8. Capital One's guide for the Quicksilver, QuicksilverOne, Savor, SavorOne, Venture and VentureOne also pays up to $3,000 per covered trip, for trips of 5 to 60 days, but covers Discover Network accounts only ⁠11; Capital One does not state which network a new account is issued on and tells cardholders to check the logo on the card or the statement ⁠12. Bank of America lists the benefit on both Premium Rewards cards and Citi on the Strata Premier and Strata Elite without publishing amounts ⁠4⁠13⁠14⁠15.

New York residents have their own caps. Chase limits them to $2,000 per bag and $10,000 for all covered travelers per trip, Capital One and Wells Fargo to $2,000 per bag, and American Express to $10,000 per trip for all covered persons, plus $2,000 per bag on the Platinum ⁠1⁠11⁠8⁠2⁠10.

How payment is calculated

Several guides pay only what the carrier does not. Capital One's Discover Network guide reimburses the difference between the value of the items and the carrier's payment, valuing them at the lowest of original price, depreciated actual cash value or replacement cost ⁠11. American Express says baggage claims may be paid only after the carrier has settled, except for agreed-value items, and describes its coverage as secondary, as do Wells Fargo and Citi ⁠2⁠8⁠14. American Express and Wells Fargo require the entire fare to be charged to the card, while Chase and Capital One's Discover Network guide accept a portion ⁠2⁠8⁠1⁠11.

Exclusions and claim steps

Capital One's Discover Network guide excludes eyeglasses and hearing aids, money and tickets, cameras, sporting equipment, business items such as computers, cell phones, art objects, items insured under another policy and property shipped as freight ⁠11. Notify the carrier immediately and start its claim process; Capital One then asks you to call the benefit administrator within 20 days and send documents within 90 days, and American Express asks for notice within 30 days and proof of loss within 60 days ⁠11⁠2. Expect to provide a list of the items and their value, receipts where available, the itinerary, the report filed with the carrier and its settlement or denial ⁠2⁠11.

Cards with lost or damaged luggage

16 of the 45 cards we cover list lost or damaged luggage, 3 of them with no annual fee. Select a heading to sort the table. Each card’s page has the full terms.

Credit cards with lost luggage insurance, by annual fee
Terms
Capital One Quicksilver Cash Rewards Credit CardCapital One $0 Not stated Discover Network accounts: up to $3,000 per covered trip of 5 to 60 days.⁠11
Capital One Savor Cash Rewards Credit CardCapital One $0 Not stated Discover Network accounts: up to $3,000 per covered trip of 5 to 60 days.⁠11
Capital One VentureOne Rewards Credit CardCapital One $0 Not stated Discover Network accounts: up to $3,000 per covered trip of 5 to 60 days.⁠11
Capital One QuicksilverOne Cash Rewards Credit CardCapital One $39 Not stated Discover Network accounts: up to $3,000 per covered trip of 5 to 60 days.⁠11
Capital One SavorOne Cash Rewards Credit CardCapital One $39 Not stated Discover Network accounts: up to $3,000 per covered trip of 5 to 60 days.⁠11
Bank of America Premium Rewards credit cardBank of America $95 Not stated Covers luggage and contents lost or stolen through carrier theft or misdirection; limit not published.⁠4
Capital One Venture Rewards Credit CardCapital One $95 Not stated Discover Network accounts: up to $3,000 per covered trip of 5 to 60 days.⁠11
Chase Sapphire Preferred Credit CardChase $95 $3,000 Up to $3,000 per traveler per trip; $500 sub-limits for jewelry and electronics.⁠16⁠1
Citi Strata Premier CardCiti $95 Not stated Lost or damaged luggage listed; secondary coverage. Amounts in the Guide to Protection Benefits.⁠7⁠14
Wells Fargo Autograph Journey CardWells Fargo $95 Not stated Up to $3,000 per trip for all travelers; theft or carrier misdirection; secondary; fare paid with card.⁠8
American Express Gold CardAmerican Express $325 Not stated Up to $500 checked and $1,250 carry-on per person; $250 cap on high-risk items; secondary.⁠2⁠3⁠17
Capital One Venture X Rewards Credit CardCapital One $395 Not stated Up to $3,000 per covered trip ($2,000 per bag for New York residents).⁠5
Bank of America Premium Rewards Elite credit cardBank of America $550 Not stated Covers luggage and contents lost or stolen through carrier theft or misdirection; limit not published.⁠13
Citi Strata Elite CardCiti $595 Not stated Lost or damaged luggage listed; secondary coverage. Amounts in the Guide to Protection Benefits.⁠18⁠15
Chase Sapphire Reserve Credit CardChase $795 $3,000 Up to $3,000 per traveler per trip; $500 sub-limits for jewelry and electronics.⁠6⁠9
Platinum Card from American ExpressAmerican Express $895 $3,000 Up to $2,000 checked and $3,000 carry-on; $3,000 maximum per person per trip; secondary.⁠10⁠3⁠19

Related: Rental car coverage · Trip cancellation and interruption · Trip delay · Baggage delay · Travel accident insurance · Emergency evacuation and medical. Need several benefits at once? Use the card finder.

Sources

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16
  17. 17
  18. 18
  19. 19

Has a card changed its terms? Report an error