Credit cards with trip cancellation insurance
Trip cancellation and interruption insurance reimburses prepaid, nonrefundable travel costs when a covered reason, such as illness or severe weather, stops or cuts short a trip paid with the card 12. Of the 45 cards we cover, 19 list it, from American Express, Bank of America, Capital One, Chase, Citi, U.S. Bank and Wells Fargo 3456789.
Contents6 sections
What the coverage pays for
The cards differ first in which costs count. Chase's Sapphire Preferred guide reimburses nonrefundable prepaid travel expenses charged by a travel supplier, plus change fees, up to $10,000 per covered traveler, $20,000 per trip and $40,000 per 12-month period per account; the Sapphire Reserve has the same limits 110. Wells Fargo's Autograph Journey guide covers unused tickets, lodging and tour fees up to $15,000 per covered traveler per trip and $20,000 per 12-month period 9. American Express pays up to $10,000 per covered trip and $20,000 per card per 12 consecutive months on the Platinum, separately for cancellation and for interruption 211.
Other cards cover only fares. Chase's Freedom Flex, Freedom Unlimited and Freedom Rise reimburse nonrefundable passenger fares up to $1,500 per covered traveler and $6,000 per trip 126. Capital One's Visa Infinite guide for the Venture X and U.S. Bank's Altitude Connect guide pay up to $2,000 per insured person for nonrefundable common carrier tickets 58. Bank of America lists up to $2,500 for nonrefundable passenger fares on the Premium Rewards and does not state a limit for the Premium Rewards Elite 413.
Capital One and Citi: what is and is not published
For the Quicksilver, QuicksilverOne, Savor, SavorOne, Venture and VentureOne, Capital One's guide pays up to $1,500 per insured person for nonrefundable common carrier tickets, but that guide covers Discover Network accounts only 14. Capital One does not state which network a new account is issued on and tells cardholders to check the logo on the card or the statement 15. That guide's covered causes are narrow: death, injury or illness of you or an immediate family member, or the carrier's default from financial insolvency 14. Citi lists trip cancellation and interruption on the Strata Premier and Strata Elite as secondary coverage but publishes no limits, which are in the Guide to Protection Benefits sent after approval 1617.
Covered reasons and exclusions
Only listed reasons qualify. Chase's Sapphire Preferred guide covers illness or injury advised by a physician, a family member's life-threatening illness, severe weather, a named storm warning, jury duty, quarantine and an uninhabitable home, and says a change of plans or feeling unwell but able to travel is not covered 1. It excludes pre-existing conditions for which care was recommended or received in the 60 days before booking, trips longer than 60 days, epidemic or pandemic border closures, and supplier insolvency 1. American Express also excludes pre-existing conditions and travel supplier insolvency, and one-way travel without a return destination 2.
Payment rules matter. Chase covers a trip when all or a portion of it is charged to the card or paid with its rewards, while American Express requires the full cost charged to the card, alone or with its points, and Capital One's Discover Network guide, Wells Fargo and U.S. Bank require the entire cost 121498. Chase's Sapphire Preferred guide, American Express and Wells Fargo call the coverage secondary to other reimbursement 129.
How to make a claim
Notify the travel supplier right away; Chase's guide says nothing is paid for amounts that would have been refunded had you notified it 1. Chase then asks for a claim within 20 days and documents within 90 days, and American Express asks for notice within 60 days and proof of loss within 180 days 12. Expect to send the itinerary, proof of the reason (such as medical records), the supplier's cancellation policy, unused tickets or vouchers and a card statement showing the charge 12.
Cards with trip cancellation and interruption
19 of the 45 cards we cover list trip cancellation and interruption, 7 of them with no annual fee. Select a heading to sort the table. Each card’s page has the full terms.
| Terms | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Capital One Quicksilver Cash Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $0 | $1,500 | Not stated | Discover Network accounts: up to $1,500 per insured person for carrier tickets.14 |
| Capital One Savor Cash Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $0 | $1,500 | Not stated | Discover Network accounts: up to $1,500 per insured person for carrier tickets.14 |
| Capital One VentureOne Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $0 | $1,500 | Not stated | Discover Network accounts: up to $1,500 per insured person for carrier tickets.14 |
| Chase Freedom Flex Credit CardChase | $0 | $1,500 | $6,000 | Non-refundable fares up to $1,500 per traveler and $6,000 per trip.1812 |
| Chase Freedom Rise Credit CardChase | $0 | $1,500 | $6,000 | Non-refundable fares up to $1,500 per traveler and $6,000 per trip.196 |
| Chase Freedom Unlimited Credit CardChase | $0 | $1,500 | $6,000 | Non-refundable fares up to $1,500 per traveler and $6,000 per trip.206 |
| U.S. Bank Altitude Connect Visa Signature CardU.S. Bank | $0 | $2,000 | Not stated | Up to $2,000 per insured person for non-refundable fares; entire trip cost charged to the card.8 |
| Capital One QuicksilverOne Cash Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $39 | $1,500 | Not stated | Discover Network accounts: up to $1,500 per insured person for carrier tickets.14 |
| Capital One SavorOne Cash Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $39 | $1,500 | Not stated | Discover Network accounts: up to $1,500 per insured person for carrier tickets.14 |
| Bank of America Premium Rewards credit cardBank of America | $95 | Not stated | Not stated | Up to $2,500 for non-refundable passenger fares; sickness or other covered situations.4 |
| Capital One Venture Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $95 | $1,500 | Not stated | Discover Network accounts: up to $1,500 per insured person for carrier tickets.14 |
| Chase Sapphire Preferred Credit CardChase | $95 | $10,000 | $20,000 | Up to $10,000 per traveler, $20,000 per trip, $40,000 per 12 months per account.211 |
| Citi Strata Premier CardCiti | $95 | Not stated | Not stated | Common carrier trip cancellation and interruption; secondary. Amounts in the Guide to Protection Benefits.716 |
| Wells Fargo Autograph Journey CardWells Fargo | $95 | $15,000 | Not stated | Up to $15,000 per traveler per trip, $20,000 per 12 months; secondary; pay full trip with card.922 |
| Capital One Venture X Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $395 | $2,000 | Not stated | Up to $2,000 per insured person for non-refundable common carrier tickets.5 |
| Bank of America Premium Rewards Elite credit cardBank of America | $550 | Not stated | Not stated | Reimburses the common carrier passenger fare on cancellation or interruption; limit not published.13 |
| Citi Strata Elite CardCiti | $595 | Not stated | Not stated | Enhanced trip cancellation and interruption (common carrier); secondary. Amounts in the Guide.2317 |
| Chase Sapphire Reserve Credit CardChase | $795 | $10,000 | $20,000 | Up to $10,000 per traveler, $20,000 per trip, $40,000 per 12 months per account.2410 |
| Platinum Card from American ExpressAmerican Express | $895 | Not stated | $10,000 | Up to $10,000 per trip and $20,000 per card per 12 months; secondary; trip paid with the card.2311 |
Related: Rental car coverage · Trip delay · Baggage delay · Lost or damaged luggage · Travel accident insurance · Emergency evacuation and medical. Need several benefits at once? Use the card finder.
Sources
- 1
- 2 American Express, Guide to Benefits - Trip Cancellation and Interruption Insurance Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 3
- 4 Bank of America, Bank of America Premium Rewards Credit Card Benefits Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 5 Capital One, Your Guide To Card Benefits - Visa Infinite Card (Capital One) Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 6
- 7 Citi, Citi Strata Premier Card | Citi.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 8
- 9
- 10 Chase, Chase Sapphire Reserve Visa Infinite Guide to Benefits (effective 06/11/26) Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 11
- 12
- 13 Bank of America, Bank of America Premium Rewards Elite Credit Card Benefits Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 14
- 15 Capital One, Cardholder Benefits Guides | Capital One Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 16
- 17
- 18 Chase, Chase Freedom Flex Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 19 Chase, Chase Freedom Rise Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 20 Chase, Chase Freedom Unlimited Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 21 Chase, Chase Sapphire Preferred Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 22 Wells Fargo, Wells Fargo Autograph Journey Card product page Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 23 Citi, Citi Strata Elite - Travel Credit Card | Citi.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
- 24 Chase, Chase Sapphire Reserve Credit Card | Chase.com Checked Oct 10, 2026 · Back to text ↑
Has a card changed its terms? Report an error